Northeast Florida Sports Jacksonville

Big Schools: Honorable Mention

To say 2016 was a banner year for high school football, is an understatement. A record four area teams made it to Orlando and two brought home state titles.

Trinity Christian won its fourth state title in a row and University Christian won its second in a row (9th overall), while Bolles finished as state runner-up again.

But it was blue collar lunch pail team from Ponte Vedra that shocked many by winning 14 in a row before stumbling in the Class 5A state title game.

Lee brought alumni back and had the whole city supporting its run to the state semi-finals and sent a message to everyone too, “WERE BACK”.

These are just some of the stories of the past football season along with the stories comes great players too.

Here is the inaugural Duval Sports All-Area football team.


Honorable Mention (Offense)

Baker County: Lee Graham (Jr., WR), Jackson Davis (Jr., K)

Bartram Trail: Gunnar Hitzeman (So., WR), Riley Smith (Jr., QB), Jordan Smith (Sr., QB)

Bishop Kenny: Kurtis Gavin (Sr., RB), Tucker Talbott (So., QB), Matthew Brust (Jr., K/P)

Clay: Cedrick Brown (So., RB)

Ed White: Caleb Steward (Jr., RB), Xavion Allen (Sr., QB)

Fletcher: Calvin Lewis (Sr.,RB), Jeremiah Payton (So., WR), Anthony Evelyn (Jr., ATH), Michael Young (Sr., QB), Trevon Williams (So., RB)

Lee: Jurial Caldwell (So., WR), Donnie Weatherspoon (Sr., WR), Isaiah Hopson (Sr., WR), Theodore Ingram IV (Jr., WR), Tyrique Thomas (Sr., WR)

Mandarin: Mekhi Jackson (Sr., RB)

Menendez: Eugene Foster (Jr., RB), Demario Douglas (So., ATH)

Middleburg: Bailey Barnard (Sr., OL)

Nease: Jayson Sowden (Sr., WR)

Oakleaf: Jamaric Bonner (So., WR), Jakari Williams (Jr., WR), Mitch Cuthbertson (Jr. OL), Todd Nixon (Sr., K/P)

Orange Park: Demarae Byrd (Sr., QB), Darrell Vann (Sr., RB)

Ponte Vedra: Jake McGuire (Sr., WR)

Parker: Cameron Sapp (So., QB)

Ribault: Javon Williams (So., RB), Ryan Williams (Sr., QB), Kenneth Channelle (Jr., WR), Jhamaal Marsh (Jr., ATH), Louis Dorsey (Sr., WR)

Ridgeview: Kiaran Turner (Jr., WR)

Sandalwood: Kyle Smith (Jr., QB)

Stanton: Corday Stafford (Sr., RB)

St. Augustine: Karim Brown (Jr., WR), Brandon Johnson (So., RB)

Suwannee: CJ Hall (So., RB)

Westside: Winston Sweeting (Jr., QB), Nelson Pagan (Jr., RB)


Honorable Mention (Defense)

Bartram Trail: Sean Coggeshall (Sr., DB)

Fleming Island: Duke Wright (Jr., LB)

Fletcher: Damien Anderson (Sr., LB), Jamari Haynes (Jr., DB)

Mandarin: Terrance Curry (Sr., DL), Antonio Spooney (Sr., DB), Joshua Mincey (Sr., LB)

Middleburg: Andrew Austin (Sr., DL), Carvin Duverge (Sr., DL)

Paxon: Chris Lewis Jr. (Jr., DL), Ronald Williams Jr. (Sr., DL), Jalon White (Sr., DB)

Ribault: Devon Matthews (Jr., DB), Jakeem Gelsey (Sr., DB), Antonio Hagans (Sr., DB), Dewayne Eason (Sr., SS)

Sandalwood: Ameer Speed (Sr., DB), Wade Perrier (Sr., LB), Brayden Matts (Sr., DB)

Suwannee: Steven Jones (Sr., LB), Suwannee: KJ Scott (Jr., LB)

White: Jamal Tillman (Sr.,DB )