Northeast Florida Sports Jacksonville

Mr. Football 2014: De’Andre Johnson!!

On Monday, the Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football award was won by our very own De’Andre Johnson of First Coast High School. De’Andre’s impressive high school career is rivaled only by the great Tim Tebow whom Johnson surpassed in total career touchdowns this season.

Other winners on the First Coast include Derrick Henry 2012 RB Yulee, Sandalwood FB Frankie Franklin in 1995, Jackson RB Leon Washington in 2001, and QB/DT Tim Tebow in 2005 out of Nease. I had the privileged of playing with Frankie Franklin, playing against Leon Washington, and IMG_3525observing Tebow and more recently Harvey’s achievements on the gridiron. As illustrious as each one of these individual’s careers were in High School Football, none were quite like Johnson’s. None did it consistently for four years like Johnson.

De’Andre threw for 3,710 yards and 47 touchdowns his senior year for the Buccaneers. His freshman year, he burst onto the scene leading the Bucs to the State Championship game with 2,895 yards passing and 24 TDs. For his career, Johnson passed for 11,585 yards and 122 Touchdowns, numbers you would see on a video game.Who knows, maybe we will see him on Madden 19;  But one thing’s  for certain, we’ll definitely see him in College Football next year.

Johnson has already committed to Florida State, making that the second Mr. Football to come from Jacksonville ( Leaon Washington 02′) and the second Mr. Football in a row to attend the University ( Dalvin Cook 2013). Noone is sure what position Johnson will play at FSU as of yet, but Jacksonville may have just observed a glimpse of the next Charlie Ward. De’Andre’s leadership, commitment, and humility puts him in that company already. The sky is the limit for this young man, one of Duval’s brightest stars.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.