Northeast Florida Sports Jacksonville

Youth Story of the Year: Sweetwater wins Pop Warner National Title

ORLANDO-The Division I Pee Wee Sweetwater Hawks (ages 9-12) defeated the North Raleigh Bulldogs (NC) 25-0 to win the National Championship in the 60th annual Pop Warner Super Bowl at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Disney World.

Sweetwater came into their championship game having defeated the North Philly Aztecs in round one, and the Patriots YTF in round two. Round three would be the final step to achieving youth football’s ultimate prize.

Sweetwater jumped out of the gate fast in the championship game. On just the second play of the game, Daniel Plummer III ( DP3) tossed a 45 yard pass to Micah Simmons. Plummer had shown that he could air it out and the coaches didn’t hesitate to test the North Raleigh defense. The pass connection would set up Simmons again this time on a 16 yard touchdown run, and just like that Sweetwater led 6-0.

After Sweetwater’s defense stopped the Bulldogs attack, the offense took to the air again with a 50 yard bomb to Charles Thompson to put them up 13-0 to start the second quarter. Plummer would then hook up with Marcus Peterson on a beautiful over the shoulder grab in the end zone to up their lead to 19-0 at halftime.

Sweetwater would cement their championship in the second half as Plummer would toss hi 4th touchdown pass of the game, hooking up with Thompson again on a touchdown pass to balloon the score to 25-0.Thompson would also star on Sweetwater’s defense who boasted a shut out in the Super Bowl.

Thompson grabbed two interceptions in the game to lead the talented team off Wilson Blvd in Jacksonville. The defense turned out the lights on the 60th Annual Pop Warner National Championships giving up zero points and winning 25-0.

Sweetwater capped off an undefeated 10-0 season, winning the Greater Jacksonville Pop Warner City Championship, the Southeast Region Championship, and finally the National Championship in Orlando.

With the title, Sweetwater won its fourth Pop Warner National Title and became just the third park to win a championship at each competitive age level.